Challenge yourself every day

Posted: October 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

Have you ever done something you thought that you would never be able to do before?

Has anyone ever told you that you were not good enough or you couldn’t accomplish something?

Well now is the time for you to over come these obstacles and negativity by challenging yourself each and everyday. Challenging yourself has nothing to do with your physical capabilities or your busy schedule it has to do with your mental focus and thoughts. If you worked out for 30 minutes in the gym today, challenge yourself by working out 40 minutes tomorrow. If your squat was 200 pounds today, try squatting 210 pounds tomorrow. The only way that you can physically and mentally make yourself stronger is by setting goals and becoming better than the day before.

On a more personal note, when I was at my heaviest of 285 pounds, I never thought that I would be climbing rope, running half marathons, working out with athletes at the Crossfit gym and cycling for miles at a time. When I look back at when I first started working out I remember that I always tried to do a little bit more than I did the day before. Did I doubt myself sometimes and tell myself that was unrealistic? Of course I did but I did it anyway and tried. Those mornings when I was so sleepy and was sore from the workout the day before, did I make myself get out of bed and go for another workout? Sure I did. Everything that we do is mental. If you have a strong mental focus you can accomplish even your toughest challenges.

How can you increase your mental focus? Start by tackling small accomplishments first. If you ran 1 mile today, aim for running 1.2 miles tomorrow and so forth. Soon enough you will be running your first 5k. Setting small goals helps as opposed to setting a big goal and disappointing yourself if for some reason you do not accomplish that goal. Also, be sure to surround yourself with family, co workers and friend who can support you by encouraging you to keep going and to not give up. Having a strong social support has helped me get through my goals.

Sleeping more than 8 hours a day can actually cause your body to become more tired than you really should be and can also cause your metabolism to slow down. Get out of bed and get started with the workout of the day. Challenge yourself today and become mentally and physically fit.

The picture at the top is a picture of my really good friend T, on the zipline at a mud race. I am very proud of her and she has definitely challenged herself by completing this race.

Comments
  1. This is too true, indeed. I’ve got to stay mentally ready to workout, because my “schedule” will dictate and who sets it but me? Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

