Getting Ready for the Half Marathon in March

Posted: January 14, 2012 in cardio, exercise, fitness, Health, metabolism, nutrition, run, running, sports, workout


Today’s run went well, completed 10.25 miles on Bayshore Blvd in Tampa, FL. The temperature was about 64 degrees which is quite cold for Tampa. I bought a weighted backpack to help me get stronger, at first it was a little tough but after a while I didnt even realize I had the backpack on. I kept a steady pace right at 9.50/mile. I think it is time for me to get some new compression socks, calves aching just a little bit during the run but that’s normal.

People always ask me how do I have so much energy when working out since I am a Vegan. I simply tell them I eat whole and fresh foods that give me protein, carbohydrates, fats, and energy, keeping in mind I have to increase my supplement intake since I dont get certain vitamins like B vitamins that is found in meat. Since I have been Vegan/Vegetarian I have noticed that I have tons of energy to workout any day of the week and I sleep so good at night.

Maintaining a healthy diet regimen is so important for daily performance and body health consistency. You dont have to start cold turkey, just take the bad foods out your diet a little at a time. For example: cut sodas out only for one week, cut fried foods out including sodas the second week etc. Keep in mind its ok to cheat every now and then but keep it healthy. For myself, when I cheat I will have PB&J sandwich which I dont normally eat, or I would have a veggie sub from Subway which is not normally included in my diet.

This is where I started my run on Bayshore today, so I decided to take a picture of downtown Tampa. I ran all the way to downtown and back which equaled 10.25 miles. Pretty nice run. Not only for running but for anything you do in life, have a vision to where you want to go and give it your all and make it there.  Have a great day!

Comments
  1. In appreciation of the light you bring with your positivity and creativity, you’ve been nominated for the Candle Lighter Award. Congratulations and shine on.

    To view your nomination: http://youasamachine.com/2012/01/16/candle-lighter-award/

Leave a Reply

