9 Germiest Places

Posted: December 18, 2011 in fitness, flu, germs, Health, nutrition, Uncategorized

It is a dirty world out there,  please be careful out there to keep your self feeling well and to avoid from getting sick especially around the holidays. Germs can cause bacteria, viruses, and spread infections. Per MayoCLinic, a germ can live on a surface for up to 48 hours or more. Researchers have repeatedly found that cold and flu germs generally remain active longer on stainless steel, plastic and similar hard surfaces than on fabric and other soft surfaces

My Top 9 Germiest Places to be aware of:

9. Kitchen Sinks- Most people do not realize it, but kitchen sinks are one of the dirtiest places in the home,  used for dishes and their  decaying food particles. People also use them to wash clothes, and also cleaning meats and vegetables which also leaves food particles in the sink.

8. Gas Pumps- Gas Pumps are used by hundreds of people a day that do not wash their hands or wipe down the gas pump after they are done using it. Some gas station attendants usually wipe these down once a day but most are not doing this. Use hand sanitizer before and after you use the gas pumps.

7. ATM Machines and Keypads- Many people use ATM machines now a day, and many ATM machines are never cleaned. Think about all the germs from people coughing and sneezing while using the keypads.

6. Hotel Linens and Towels- I recently stayed at a 4 star hotel and the towels that were supposedly clean were not, there were stains left on the towels they was supposed to be clean already. Also, I did a test but placing a juice stain on the bed’s comforter and when I returned back the next day the bed was made perfectly however the juice stain was still on the comforter. hmmmm

5. Keyboards- The sweat and oils from fingers and hands leave behind grime and communicable diseases such as the flu, colds, strep throat, and others. Public computers at libraries, schools, and other organizations are the worse.

4. Portable Toilets- Self explanatory :)

3. Gym- Equipment at public gyms are used by a multitude of people during the day. The machines take it upon themselves to absorb all the sweat and accompanying bacteria. It’s a good idea to remember to bring a towel to the gym and wipe down the equipment. A while back I was using gym equipment and happened to wipe my eye without thinking, immediately I went to wash my hands and wash my eye. The next morning my eye was swollen and apparently got an infection due to the germs left on the gym equipment.

2. Money- Coins and paper dollars alike change hands quickly, as a result transferring germs, grease, and grime from one person to another. They only become dirtier and dirtier as they move about in circulation, accumulating a little bit of every owner on their surface.

1. The Human Mouth- The human mouth is awash with bacteria. Mostly neighborly bugs, they live on our teeth and gums, helping to digest food and to ward off attack by less friendly, disease-causing bacteria that can steal their way in.The human mouth actually contains more harmful microbes than dogs.

How to Avoid: The best way to avoid becoming infected with a cold or flu is to wash your hands frequently with soap and water or with an alcohol-based sanitizer. (Per MayoClinic) 

Comments
  1. upwardliving says:

    Nice post you got too. I knew a few of these but I am just becoming aware of others. Thanks for the enlightenment.

  2. Ew. These types of posts make me want to protect myself in my own personal bubble and bounce my way to work.

  3. DPC says:

    I also saw a news story about the germs and filth on restaurant menus since everyone touches those — which totally grossed me out. I tend to Purell when I get to the restaurant but now will do it after I’ve used the menu and handed it to the waiter!

  4. Always carry antibacterial wipes! I keep them in my car, and gym bag.

  5. maizeydaisy says:

    Eew! Makes me want to live in a bubble! Lol

  6. This specific article, “9 Germiest Places L-Jay Health” was
    fantastic. I am printing out a backup to clearly show my good
    friends. Thanks for your effort-Ashton

Leave a Reply

